The Online Dater: Life in my twenties isn’t how I imagined it

nick new girl

Your twenties are supposed to be the best decade of your life. You’re finally out of full-time education, you’re earning money without needing to spend it (on mortgages, children and other burdens that shackle you post-30) and you’re thankfully out of that teenage-awkward phase where you spent several years determining your sexuality and teaching yourself how to French kiss.

Best. Time. Of. Our. Lives.

Here’s my reality.

I’m firmly in my mid-twenties, my bank account remains continuously in low figures and I still live with my parents.

Yes I may be living in the greatest city in the world, London, where there are more burger joints than you can shake a stick at and there are delicious men of all types everywhere – but here it is: I’m 25 and I’m broke.

When I was a wee lass of 15, I looked forward to being in my mid-twenties. The age that was an elusive decade away seemed grown up and mature. I imagined I would stroll around London drinking cocktails at all hours, keep a beautiful flat with three socially exuberant and hilarious housemates, and I would be having sex ALL THE TIME. Seriously, a revolving door of men.

Things have turned out quite different.

I stroll around London drinking the cheapest beer I can afford from the off licence. My beautiful flat is the home I grew up in, vacated for a few years to go to university, and returned to because I thought it would be a great idea to study a Masters and subsequently couldn’t afford to move out. And that revolving door of men? It’s a difficult situation to pull off when your parents are sleeping in the next room.

Robin-Cries-Under-A-Desk-With-A-Bottle-Of-Wine-How-I-Met-Your-MotherAside from the fact life has spectacularly let me down in the house/job/money front, I haven’t been devoid of men in the past few years.

But it’s hard to keep the spark of romance alive when you respond to suggestions of going for a ‘nice meal’ with ‘how about we get a sandwich from Sainsbury’s and sit in the park?’ because you’re short of bills.

The ‘where do you live’ question is also difficult to navigate. I try to put it off as long as possible and when it becomes necessary to divulge my living situation (because otherwise he believes I’m on day release from prison), the explanation is prefaced with ‘my parents are really cool and I don’t have lots of money to move out and one in two young people live at home anyway. Besides, have you seen the state of the housing market?!’.

Spontaneous sexcapades is a hard one to combat. First there’s the problem of hair. You know – down there.

My salary being what it is I can’t afford regular trips to the waxing salon. Sometimes a razor and a well-used single waxing strip will have to do.

And then there’s the question of the bed – yours or mine? Mine will involve an awkward encounter with the parental unit the next morning while yours has gross man-sheets and a lack of toiletries to contend with. Of course, the answer is always yours but one day it’ll be nice not to steal your female flatmate’s moisturiser in the morning.

When I was a teenager I thought I’d be glamorous and together in my mid-twenties. Truthfully I’m incredibly lucky to have parents who let me stay at home and I work in a field I love.

But life has turned out a little different than how I imagined.

And I can’t wait to grow up.

R x

3 thoughts on “The Online Dater: Life in my twenties isn’t how I imagined it

  1. When I was 14 I said look where ill be when I’m 16. When I turned 16 I thought I’m going to make a revolution for myself by the time I’m 18. When I turned 18 I said the same for another 2 year repeat, and now that I’m 21 I could care less for timing. I can definitely relate to your post but with my own preferences of course. You had the opportunity of being a little more independent during your studies at the least. I’m over here with my parents basically shackled with no money, no social life, a head dreaming of opportunities, and no prediction for my future. With 7 years of schooling ahead of me I don’t know where that money to afford it will come from or if the debt after loans will subdue me. California conditions resemble traps, and I feel that I’m going to be idle like this for another decade without money in my pocket or a chance of gaining any without spending.

  2. I hope you keep writing. I love reading about the dating lives of people in completely different locations than mine. Worry not. It’s not a whole lot better in the middle of the U.S.

  3. I love reading this blog, so much fun. You and your waxing R… I used to be in the same situation and ended up hoping for the best and going for a trimmed down natural look. Better for my budget and it set expectations where I wanted them!

Leave a comment